top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly

The Tin Man Blog Tour

Another day, another book tour for you all! Today, I've been lucky enough to read and review The Tin Man - giant thank you to Zooloo Book Tours for giving me the opportunity!! Check below for the other tour stops, along with the book blurb, author bio, and links.


My thoughts

When I first opened the book, it got straight down to it. Cain meets the lovely Sam, a model who is convinced there's something more to her father's death. Throughout the interaction, there was so much foreshadowing - we are told from the very beginning that the whole thing is not what it seems - and I was scribbling notes in my head trying to figure out how it was all going to go pear shaped.


I can confirm I had suspicions, but it didn't turn out quite how I thought it would! The action didn't let up, but for all that it was still really well paced and there were enough lulls for me to catch my breath before the next wave. Cain feels like a well-drawn character, and I enjoyed reading him try to figure his way into and out of scenarios.


I ended up reading this in one sitting. There are some hard hitting scenes (and it's worth checking for content warnings if suicide/violence against women in particular is an issue for you) but I felt they fit into the narrative and weren't overly and gratuitously graphic.


I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers or PI books. It's on the shorter side, coming in at just over 200 pages, but you wouldn't think it given how much happens within that space! I'll definitely be keeping an eye out for book two.



Tour Stops




Book Blurb

 

A private investigator is asked by a famous model, to discover if the death of her father was really accidentalas she feels the police have hit a brick wall and have no further leads to follow. Simeon Cain decides to look into it. The results are both surprising and horrifying...Tin Man is the first of a new series, which you will not want to miss. The novel is full of action and intrigue and the series is set to grow. Brian Caves is a great storyteller and this book is pure action all the way through, with twists and turns aplenty. The plotting is genius…



Author Bio

I started out as an engineer, then an estate agent, followed by senior management roles in

cable TV and telecoms. Spent a few years as a management consultant and now work in the

language translation industry.

 

I have played music all my life. Classically trained on the clarinet from the age of eight until

fourteen when my world took a quantum leap forward after hearing Jimi Hendrix and Voodoo

Child on the radio. I thought, wow, I gotta do that. I dumped the clarinet and I picked up the

guitar and have never put it down. I have played alongside topflight musicians, both live and

in studios.

 

From a young age I read books like Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, Black Beauty,

Swallows and Amazons, then The Famous Five, Billy Bunter, Jennings and Derbyshire,

Biggles, and Tarzan. Agatha Christie had a major impact as did Georges Simenon. I penned

short stories at school – mostly adventure, but it wasn’t until I became hooked on American

Crime Noir that my urge to write came crashing to the forefront of my mind. Reading

Hammett, Chandler, Jim Thompson, Macdonald, and the master, James M. Cain had the same

effect on my potential writing career as Hendrix had for my music.

 

Currently, having been further influenced by the greats of Southern literature, I write crime

stories based in the Deep South as well as UK based dark noir crime set in the county of

Northamptonshire where I reside. Throw into the pot crime and horror short stories and

novellas and you’ll have some idea of what goes on in my head.

 

Follow Brian W. Caves at:

 

 


 


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page