top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKelly

Dark Energy Blog Tour

It has been a week! In amongst meetings and getting ready to start a new part time job (which I'm very excited about!), I have been reading Dark Energy, and I'm glad I made the time to do it!



Book Blurb

Brad Willis is an unlikely investigator, and an even less likely spy.He is a scientist, not a hero, but when it comes to finding technical solutions, there is none better. That’s how MI6 uses him; that’s how he lands himself in trouble.Members of the scientific community around the world are being systematically murdered, and for no obvious reason. Who is killing them and why?That is until Willis uncovers a mystery. The largest research facility in the world has made a huge discovery but not reported it. Why not? Why would someone want it hidden?His travels take him across four nations where he forms liaisons with a Russian General and an oligarch. Can he trust either? If he chooses badly, he is as good as dead. He suspects everyone, so can trust no one…And will need to risk his life to find out …


Review

With a blurb like that, I couldn't walk past and Dark Energy it did not disappoint. Reading this book reminded me of back in the day when I would read and reread my dad's Alistair MacLean books. Willis makes a convincing MI6 agent, and I was invested in him figuring out what was going on and why.


I was a little concerned at first that I wouldn't understand the science behind it all, but Boles uses his characters to help explain things organically so that you don't need a degree in particle physics to understand what's happening. The science is woven in well to the narrative, and I think the author did a wonderful job at making it really accessible to readers.


The action was non stop and I was so invested in the outcome! I think at one point I thought everybody was a mole, informant, or spy! I ended up reading it over three days, and it only took that long because of my other commitments and also because apparently I need to sleep at night. Otherwise, I would've definitely finished it in one sitting.


Recommendations

This is an ideal book for anyone looking for action packed spy books. There's almost no romance in it (there's a love interest and one or two short, open door spicy scenes), but there's a lot of guns, planes, blood, death, and bad guys.


Author Bio

Tom Boles has discovered more supernovae (exploding stars) than any other person in history.

 

Tom is a Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and a past President of The British Astronomical Association. He was awarded the Merlin Medal and the Walter Goodacre Award for his contribution to astronomy. The International Astronomical Union named main-belt asteroid 7648, Tomboles in his honour.

 

He has published many scientific papers on supernovae and written numerous articles for popular astronomy magazines. He has made many television appearances ranging from BBC's Tomorrow's World to The Sky at Night. During recent years he has given Enrichment Lectures on astronomy aboard Cunard liners, mainly their flagship QM2.

 

During these trips he had designed and presented shows using the ship's onboard planetarium. His experience as an astronomer inspired his novels and help mould his hero, Brad Willis. He published DARK ENERGY in June, 2021 and SHADES of WHITE in November of that year. His third book, MURDER comes by LIMO was published in July 2022.

 

He lives in rural Suffolk where he enjoys dark skies free from light pollution.

 

Follow him at:

 


Don't forget - you can check out the tour progress at the blogs mentioned in the graphic at the top of the page, or click on the Zooloo Tours graphic below.






2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page